Saturday, December 16, 2017

Recording: The Andrew Downing Ensemble

Artist: The Andrew Downing Ensemble

Songs: All Alone on the Mountain + I'm No Good Without You

Recorded at the Canadian Music Centre, November 9, 2017.

The Andrew Downing Ensemble - All Alone on the Mountain

The Andrew Downing Ensemble - I'm No Good Without You

The living room-sized performance space at Chalmers House was an ideal spot to sit back and listen to the tunes from Andrew Downing's Otterville recording. Enhanced by video projections by graphic designer Yesim Tosuner and storytelling from John Southworth, the group (featuring Andrew Downing, Michael Davidson, Tara Davidson, Nick Fraser, Aline Homzy, and Paul Mathew) explored the nostalgic lushness of Downing's compositions, inspired by the almost-too-good-to-be-a-real-town-name of Otterville. Like a lot of Canadian small towns, there's a lot of niceness and well-organized politeness on the surface, but manifold layers underneath. The music was oft at its best when it drifted into lullaby dreamworlds and Ellingtonian reveries.

No comments:

Post a Comment