Monday, August 26, 2013

Recording: The Replacements

Artist: The Replacements

Songs: Love You Till Friday/Maybellene + Swingin' Party + Can't Hardly Wait + Bastards of Young

Recorded at Garrison Common ("Riot Fest" – Day 2), August 25, 2013.

The Replacements - Love You Till Friday/Maybellene

The Replacements - Swingin' Party

The Replacements - Can't Hardly Wait

The Replacements - Bastards of Young

Full review to follow. I was not planning to go to this show, despite the fact that The Replacements mean a whole lot to me. I had no shortage of apprehension over whether this could live up to expectations, plus I've been spending the summer avoiding the corporate festivals at Fort York. And even the event's name bugged the hell outta me. Anyways, long story short, a ticket fell into my hands (Thanks, J.!) and I ended up at the show. And I'll be damned if it wasn't pretty fucking excellent.

Perhaps inspired by the festival they're touring with, The 'Mats came out with a blasting reminder that they were — and are — a punk band, leading off with "Takin' a Ride" and "I'm in Trouble" from their first ablum [sic] Sorry Ma, Forgot to Take Out the Trash. They'd touch on that a few more times, hitting the songs hard and fast — but also not stinting on the later, anthemic material.

There's lots more to say, but for the moment I will just mention this: in 2013, The Replacements brought a tear to my eye with a poignant version of "I Will Dare" — immediately whereupon Paul Westerberg forgot the lyrics. Which is to say that are still, and ever shall be, The Replacements.

Bonus! Given the historical importance/general awesomeness of this show, I have expedited things and gotten it ready for sharing. A lossless version will be available on DIME, and MP3's are also available. For those, I will put the link in the comments.


  1. Co-claiming the punk band line for my article as we did co-write it on the bus.

  2. The full set is available in MP3 form here.

    Please let me know if there are any problems with the link.

  3. Thank you so much for that; unbelievable a copy is up so soon. Great sound as well. Thanks again.

  4. Really great quality, I was not expecting this.

  5. thanks...great job!

  6. Listening now, incredible show. Thanks for taking care of those of us who couldn't make the show.

  7. Link says download no longer available?

  8. Cheers! Thanks for the updated link.

  9. Thanks so much! What a great show. Hope they extend their tour a little longer.